blackboard-583692_1280

I’m a freak for Google Forms. Assessment? Check! Basic Info? Check! Brainstorms? Check! Exit tickets? Check! I wrote about five fab uses for Forms in an earlier post.

My newest success with Forms is a tool for student self-assessment. Students can ask “What do I know?” “How certain am I?” “How do I measure up according to the goals my teacher laid out for me back in the fall?” “Where do I measure up among my peers?”

Using Forms and the “Grid” question type, any teacher can create a tool to gather information at any point during the year. This could be 1 well-crafted question or 100. A Form is easy to scale up and build upon. Natural points to administer such a task are at the conclusion of lessons or marking periods; whatever the interval, this information can be useful as a teacher takes a look at what’s happening and transitions to a new topic. At the same time, the act of actively engage in self-assessment as regular practice can be enormously helpful to students. This process starts by giving them a better perspective on what they are doing and how it all fits together. Ideally, they will internalize these questions and begin to apply them to all areas of their studies. Our Principles of Teaching and Learning challenge us to “foster students’ self-assessment, providing students the criteria by which their understanding is assessed and giving students opportunities to assess themselves and their peers.”

There are other tools to use, of course, but Google Forms makes it easy to gather, visualize and archive all this information within the school year and from year-to-year.

Here is how it works:

1) Create a new Google Form.

2) Create questions in the “Question type” > “Grid.” [Figure 1]

3) Check the box “Require one response per row.”

4) Create the rows you like. In this model the rows correspond to the prompts for reflection. These can be organized by lesson, skill, scope and sequence, state standard, teaching/learning principle, etc. [Figure 1]

5) Create the columns you like. In this model the columns correspond to the measurement scale. These can be: Always-Sometimes-Never, Now-Not Yet, etc. In this model I’ve chose to use “I can all the time, no help-I can with help-I can inconsistently, even with help-I can’t yet.” [Figure 2-3]

6) Visualize and share the data however you choose using the accompanying Sheet and my favorite function–“Form > Show summary of responses.” Teachers can track this data on the individual student, class, grade or school level.

Google Forms - Self-eval
Figure 1
Self-evaluation2
Figure 2
Self-eval
Figure 3

 


 

 

